Australia Universal Healthcare: Easier than registering a car in the USA

Today. The day had finally come where I could apply for the healthcare system in Australia. I’d been excited about this moment but what happened after it was over was something that I never expected. I was bursting with anger and generally feeling betrayed by my home country.

Lets start off with how easy it was to apply and get Medicare here. I went online, printed a short form and brought that with my bridging visa and passport to Centerlink (the Aussie version of the DMV). I waited in line for 10 min and was placed in a que by a really nice service agent, then sat in a comfortable waiting area. Downside to this so far: a child started to cry. So already this is way more pleasant than a trip to the DMV. I had mentally prepared to wait for at least 3 hours but it turned out to be less than 20 min. I get to a desk with a female agent. She asks a few easy questions and Boom! I’ve got a temp card while my real one comes in the mail. It’s great but instead of feeling like I’ve won some lottery, I feel like I want to dropkick a tree. I kicked a twig, it was all that was available. Tom laughed.

Why did you kick the twig? Why are you upset? Easy, I felt betrayed by the health system at home. America. Why, I asked, was it easier to get health coverage in Australia than getting your car registered in the US? How can Australia do this and not America? How can Australia manage to do this and work with other countries to offer reciprocal agreements for their citizens and my home can’t? I was pissed. Tom wasn’t helping much and brought up all the times I’d almost been killed in hospitals at home because they don’t pay attention when I’ve expressly told them that I’m allergic to specific medications. Yup, almost killed and still had to pay. That’s how it’s generally worked for me at home. Here, I’ve been able to get appointments easily. I haven’t had my life further threatened and it costs less to pay full price in Australia than it does after insurance in America.

I was looking at all the people walking by as we sat eating lunch. “Tom…everyone here is covered. The business man, the barista, the guy on the skateboard”. It was baffling. Not that I didn’t understand the concept but that I couldn’t make the fact merge with what I knew. What I know is how things work at home. I know that it’s not the same here but I just can’t wrap my mind around it sometimes without getting angry. People here rarely look like they have the weight of the world on their shoulders and maybe, guaranteed healthcare, is one of the reasons they seem so carefree.

So far I haven’t seen any downsides to the system here. I haven’t heard any horror stories. Maybe…hopefully…. it’s amazing and works. At this point I’m at least sure that almost anywhere in the world is most probably better than what I’m used to.

Leave a comment